Medical marijuana has been legal in Nevada since October, 2001, following the passing of Ballot Question 9 in November, 2000. Under the law, medical patients can cultivate up to 12 plants at home if they live 25 miles from a dispensary or if they are unable to travel to a dispensary due to health issues.
How to Get a Medical Card in Nevada
Prospective patients can apply for a medical marijuana card online in the state of Nevada but will need certification from a recognized physician that they have one of the qualifying health conditions.
After scanning and uploading their driver’s license, they can create a portfolio, fill out the application and pay online. At this point, they can also decide whether or not to specify that they plan to appoint a caregiver.
Applicants should receive their card within 7 to 10 business days.
The registration fee for the medical marijuana registry is $50.
The state of Nevada has listed the following conditions as qualifiers for who can receive medical cannabis:
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including without limitation, seizures caused by epilepsy
- Persistent muscle spasms, including, but not limited to, spasms caused by multiple sclerosis
Where to Buy
Medical marijuana can be bought at dispensaries across the state. Nevada also legalized marijuana for recreational use in 2017 and a wide variety of cannabis products can be purchased at the state’s recreational marijuana dispensaries.
Nevada does not have reciprocal medical marijuana agreements with any other states.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Nevada
Medical marijuana is subject to a 2% excise tax in Nevada.
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.