Oklahoma legalized medical marijuana upon the passing of SQ 788 in 2018. Its medical marijuana program is more lenient than many other states — there is no set list of approved health conditions, it allows any physician to recommend marijuana to a patient if they think it can help them, and the state recognizes medical marijuana licenses from other states.
Under the law, a patient with an approved license can legally possess a cumulative amount of up to three ounces of marijuana on their person, six mature marijuana plants, six seedlings, one ounce of concentrate, 72 ounces of edibles.
How to Get a Medical Card in Oklahoma
To be approved for the Oklahoma medical marijuana program, applicants must first register online with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.
Applicants (patients or caregivers) must fill in their personal details as well as those of their physician, who is then required to submit an approval form to the website on behalf of the patient.
If the applicant has Medicaid or Medicare, they can pay the discounted fee of $20 for two years, instead of $100. Veterans with 100% disability can also receive a discounted charge.
The license is valid for two years or 60 days if the patient applies for a short-term license.
Unlike most other states, Oklahoma does not have a setlist of conditions for medical marijuana applicants. A qualifying physician can recommend cannabis if they think it can help the patient deal with their conditions. Some commonly prescribed conditions include:
- Chronic or Severe Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Muscle Spasms
- Neuropathic Pain Disorders
- Severe Nausea
- Any Terminal Illness
- Wasting Syndrome
Where to Buy
Oklahoma recognizes medical marijuana licenses from other states.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma
The state of Oklahoma charges a 7% excise tax on medical marijuana in addition to state (4.5%) and local taxes.
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.