Subscribe Us

Home US Regulation Cannabis laws in New Hampshire
Feb 27, 2020 2 min read

Cannabis laws in New Hampshire

author
by The Cannigma Staff

Medical: Yes
Recreational: Decriminalized
Reciprocity: Yes

New Hampshire House Bill 573 approved medical marijuana in the state in 2013 and by late 2r019 the state had 8,302 licensed users on its registry.

How to Get a Medical Card in New Hampshire

To receive a medical marijuana license in New Hampshire, prospective patients must apply using a special form issued by the Department of Health and Human Services. 

Applicants must provide a “written certification for the therapeutic use of cannabis” form completed by their medical provider, as well as proof of residency, and the required $50 registration fee. On the form, the applicant must also specify which of four alternative treatment centers (dispensaries) they’d like to use and designate their caregiver if they chose to use one. 

The form must then be submitted in person or by email and the program will approve or deny a complete application within 15 days of receipt. 

Qualifying Conditions

The state of New Hampshire has listed the following conditions as qualifiers for who can receive medical cannabis:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, Crohn’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Chronic pancreatitis
  • Spinal cord injury or disease
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Epilepsy
  • Lupus
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
  • A severely debilitating or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at least one of the following: elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia, chemotherapy-induced anorexia, wasting syndrome, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects 
  • Constant or severe nausea
  • Moderate to severe vomiting
  • Seizures or severe, persistent muscle spasms

“Qualifying medical condition” also means: (A) Moderate to severe chronic pain; (B) Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects; (C) Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder.

Where to Buy 

Medical patients can purchase their medicine only at one of four approved “alternative treatment centers” in the state. At the ATCs, patients can buy marijuana flower, concentrate, crumble, rosin, shatter, vape cartridges, topical salves, concentrates, and edibles. 

Reciprocity

New Hampshire does recognize medical marijuana licenses from other states, and residents of those states are allowed to possess marijuana in New Hampshire as long as they have the proper license from a different state. 

Taxes and Medical Marijuana in New Hampshire

In March 2019, the New Hampshire statehouse approved a bill to tax marijuana 9% at the retail level.

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

Leave a comment