Hawaii legalized medical marijuana in 2000 but only approved the opening of dispensaries in 2015. Patients who get certified from an approved physician can receive up to four ounces of usable marijuana per month and can also cultivate up to 10 plants for personal use. Any possession of up to three grams of marijuana for recreational use is penalized by a simple fine in Hawaii.
How to Get a Medical Card in Hawaii
When applying for a medical marijuana license in Hawaii, the prospective patient must register online with the Medical Cannabis Registry Program. The applicant must attain certification from a licensed physician stating that they have a health condition that can benefit from medical cannabis.
In order to receive the card (known as a 329 card), the applicant must have a valid US driver’s license or state photo ID card or passport. Minor patients can submit a birth certificate along with their legal guardian.
Applicants must pay the application fee $38.50 ($35 application fee + $3.50 administration fee) and submit their application to their physician or advanced practice registered nurse, who can certify it and submit it online to the Department of Health.
If approved, the applicant will receive notification by email to retrieve the card online. Patients can also receive it by mail if they don’t have access to email.
The qualifying conditions for which patients in Hawaii can receive medical cannabis include:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, Acquired immune deficiency syndrome, Post-traumatic stress disorder or “The treatment of these conditions”
- “A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following: Cachexia or wasting syndrome, Severe pain, Severe nausea, Seizures, including that characteristic of epilepsy, or Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including that characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn’s disease.
Where to Buy
The state currently has eight dispensaries in Honolulu, Kaui, Maui, and Hawaii counties.
Hawaii allows out-of-state license holders to apply for two 60-day licenses per calendar year. It requires an application fee of $49.50 and can be obtained online.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Hawaii
There is a 4% excise tax on medical marijuana in Hawaii, though in Oahu the rate is 4.5%.
Thanks for your feedback!
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.