Massachusetts legalized medical marijuana with the passing of Ballot Question 3 in 2012.
Under Massachusetts law, it is legal to be in possession of up to one ounce of marijuana and up to five grams of marijuana concentrate, and up to 10 ounces of marijuana if kept at home. It is also legal to grow up to six plants or up to 12 if other people are in the house.
How to Get a Medical Card in Massachusetts
To register as a medical marijuana recipient in Massachusetts, applicants must first acquire certification from a qualified healthcare provider, who will provide the applicant with a PIN number to register online for the program. Applicants can also apply by mail if they don’t have access to the online registration, though the process is more lengthy.
Online, applicants have the option to designate a personal caregiver to assist with their medical use of marijuana.
In addition to the PIN number, applicants must submit a valid form of ID, a passport-style photograph, and proof of Massachusetts residency. If approved, the license should arrive in the mail in one to two weeks, according to the Massachusetts Cannabis Control Commission.
Registration costs $50, and as of late 2019, patients no longer have to pay the annual $50 renewal fee.
The qualifying conditions for which patients in Massachusetts can receive medical cannabis include:
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
Massachusetts state regulations define “debilitating” as “causing weakness, cachexia, wasting syndrome, intractable pain, or nausea, or impairing strength or ability, and progressing to such an extent that one or more of a patient’s major life activities is substantially limited.”
Where to Buy
Marijuana can be purchased at dozens of medical dispensaries in the state. Also, recreational marijuana was legalized in the state in 2016, and by early 2020 there were nearly three dozen recreational dispensaries open in the state.
Massachusetts does not honor out-of-state medical marijuana licenses.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts
Medical marijuana is exempt from sales tax and the excise tax imposed on retail marijuana sales in Massachusetts.
Thanks for your feedback!
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.