Medical marijuana was legalized in Maryland in 2014. The law allows patients to have up to a 30-day supply of marijuana and it does not allow the cultivation of marijuana for personal use.
How to Get a Medical Card in Maryland
To receive medical marijuana in Maryland, an applicant must apply online with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.
Prospective patients and/or their caregivers must submit their personal details in their online application and once they have submitted it and received approval, they will be given a MMCC Patient ID number, which their physician will lose in order to submit the written certification on their behalf.
If the patient would like a physical medical marijuana license, the cost is $50.
A patient can receive a recommendation for medical marijuana for the following conditions:
- Wasting syndrome
- Chronic or severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder.
Maryland does not currently allow out-of-state medical marijuana recipients to use their license in the state.
Where to Buy
The state’s first medical dispensary opened in 2017. Medical patients can purchase oil, flower, concentrates, edibles, prerolls and more.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Maryland
Medical marijuana is exempt from taxes in Maryland.
Thanks for your feedback!
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.