Medical marijuana has been legal in Oregon since 1998 and under state law, patients or caregivers are legally allowed to have up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana, 16 ounces of a medical cannabinoid in solid form, 72 ounces of a medical cannabinoid product in liquid form, 16 ounces of a cannabinoid concentrate, five grams of a cannabinoid extract whether sold alone or contained in an inhalant delivery system, four immature marijuana plants, and 50 seeds.
Recreational marijuana possession in purchase is also legal across the state.
How to Get a Medical Card in Oregon
To be approved for the Oregon medical marijuana program, applicants must first register online with the Oregon Health Authority.
To complete the submission, applicants (patients or caregivers) need to attain a signed attending physician’s statement, indicating that the applicant has a qualifying condition.
The application fee is $200 unless you qualify for a discount.
An applicant may receive medical marijuana if they (or the person they are providing caregiver services for) has one or more of the following conditions:
- A degenerative or pervasive neurological condition
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia (a weight-loss disease that can be caused by HIV or cancer)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including but not limited to seizures caused by epilepsy
- Persistent muscle spasm, including but not limited to spasms caused by multiple sclerosis
Where to Buy
Oregon legalized the retail sale of recreational marijuana in 2014 and as a result, the number of medical dispensaries has all but dissipated. There are currently hundreds of recreational dispensaries across the state where medical patients can purchase cannabis products.
Oregon does not recognize medical marijuana licenses from other states.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Oregon
The state of Oregon has affixed a base tax rate of 17 percent on recreational marijuana sales and a medical license allows holders to be exempt from this tax rate.
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.