Medical marijuana became legal in Missouri after Ballot Amendment 2 was approved by voters in November 2018. Under Missouri law, patients will be able to purchase up to four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana or its equivalent in a 30-day period. Missouri law does not allow the public consumption of marijuana. Recreational Marijuana has been largely decriminalized in Missouri, and possession of up to 10 grams is punished by a fine of $500.
How to Get a Medical Card in Missouri
1. Have your physician fill out the Missouri physician certification form
This form confirms that you are being treated for one of the state’s qualifying conditions for the medical marijuana program. (See list of conditions below.)
2. Go to the State of Missouri’s official patient/caregiver application registration
Below the main photo, click on “patient/caregiver application registration”. Click yes at the pop-up box warning that you are exiting the site. Click on “sign in page” in the top right corner and then click on “register.”
3. Fill out the provided user registration form
Fill out the state’s online form, making sure that all of your personal information is correct. After registering, you should receive a verification email. Verify and sign in with the email and password you created.
4. Submit physician certification form
On the registration site, submit the certification form filled out by your presiding physician, which must include the date of patient examination, recommended amount of cannabis per 30-day period, and the qualifying medical condition you have. You can then apply in the same form for approval to cultivate marijuana and home, and to share the grow facility with other qualified patients and/or caregivers.
5. Submit application fee
The application fee for medical marijuana in Missouri is $25, and must be paid annually. If you are applying for home cultivation approval (up to six plants), an additional $100 fee is required. Primary caregivers for qualified patients must also pay a $25 license fee. After submitting all forms and paying the fee, you should receive your medical marijuana license within 30 days. This allows you to grow up to six plants for personal use.
Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, the qualifying conditions for which patients in Missouri can receive medical cannabis include:
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to: post-traumatic stress order, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medications that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- A terminal illness In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.
Missouri does not currently have reciprocity agreements with other states. Patients must have a license issued in Missouri in order to purchase marijuana in the state.
Where to Buy
The state of Missouri began accepting applications for cultivation, manufacturing, and dispensing facilities in August 2019, and in January 2020, it approved licenses for 192 dispensaries. This constitutes 24 in each of the state’s eight congressional districts and has stated that it expects marijuana to be available for purchase at licensed facilities at some point after January 2020, possibly as early as Spring 2020.
Taxes and Medical Marijuana in Missouri
Patients and caregivers must pay a 4% tax on medical marijuana purchases.
Thanks for your feedback!
Sign up for bi-weekly updates, packed full of cannabis education, recipes, and tips. Your inbox will love it.